(WPRI) – Facebook users are no strangers to scam warnings, but this newest round of fake apps prey on curiosity, making it hard to avoid.
Have you ever wanted to know who is looking at your Facebook profile? Well, every once in a while, a new application promises users a list of viewers with only a click of the mouse.
However, as soon as you agree to allow the app access, the program steals personal information.
Apps such as “Facebook Profile Viewer” and “Profile Visitor” are just some examples of the bogus scams. They bait users by sending a message saying a new update allows you to see the people that are viewing your profiles.
Once access is granted by the user, the app proceeds to steal the personal information contained in your profile. In fact, some apps go even further and begin posting on your behalf.
To avoid falling victim, remember that Facebook will never enable users to see who views their profile. Also, review the apps already installed on your profile and make sure to be careful when installing new ones.
Copyright WPRI
